// ‘Helpful and Useful’ //

l’ve loved working and playing on computers since an early age. Obviously when I was born in 1979 there wasn’t many computers around, also being a baby I wouldn’t have been able to use them anyway.

Early memories include an Amiga and then our first desktop which we got from ‘Time’ It came with a 350mb hard drive which was full when it arrived, useless. Anyway it was new and did a job. 

Since then I’ve always had a computer, either a desktop or laptop. I think the first one that I paid for was a computer I managed to buy with my student loan. I can also remember contributing to the odd computer with my Dad.

When I was a designer I spent nearly every hour of the day using Photoshop, Illustrator, Quark Express and the like. This never paid me much and the passion left me when I was made redundant at the age of 23. Since then I’ve mainly used my computer to store and edit my pictures. 

Since I got my current job I have always enjoyed analysing the data we take. Trending, creating graphs, making pivot tables, basically playing with numbers (obviously being constructive).

Working on a computer and doing something both interesting and constructive eats away the hours. Doing this now helps to pass the time and helps me to feel like I’m being useful. Hopefully this will continue for as long as I’m able.

I just want to make sure that I can be helpful and useful for the rest of my life.

image

Leave a Reply

