// ‘Memories’ //

Running around London has always been an important part of my life. When I was young I used to come to London with my Mum, Dad and Liz (my sister). It was part of my childhood.

We always walked for miles around this wonderful city, visiting the best parts of it. The National Gallery, The Natural History Museum, The Science Museum, The Victoria and Albert Museum and many more places. We also stayed in some good hotels but I just can’t remember them.

I can recall a story from the underground. We were rushing for the train, when I jumped on my bag got caught between the doors and the train was rushing towards the tunnel. Luckily some men (probably my Dad as well) pulled the doors open enough for me to drag my bag out before we dissapeared into the darkness. It was a little green satchel which was round my back, I can still picture it, what was in it though I’ve no idea.

Since I’ve had my own family we have spent some wonderful times in the big city. I have loved dragging my girls all over London taking in the sights and sounds of this great city of ours. Hopefully when I’m gone they’ll still be able to enjoy visiting this great place, but at their own pace.

I’ve always struggled to remember thing’s from my childhood but at the moment I’m finding it easier. I suppose when your outlook on life changes you tend to recall what’s important. It’s always been there, just hidden in the deepest, darkest depths of my memory bank.

I suppose it’s not unusual for them to come back to me now.

image

Leave a Reply

